Friday, 23 July 2010

Saving a Globally Reusable Workflow as a template in SharePoint Designer

This week I made the mistake of publishing a Reusable Workflow as a Globally Reusable Workflow in SharePoint Designer, deleting the original Reusable Workflow, and then trying to save the remaining Globally Reusable Workflow as a template – well, I soon found out that you can’t!

A moment of panic set in where I thought I would have to rebuild my workflow again from scratch, but came across the “Copy and Modify” option on the workflow context menu:

Workflow

This allows you to add a new Reusable Workflow back to the site using a copy of the Globally Reusable Workflow published earlier. I could then save the new Reusable Workflow as a template - Phew!

8 comments:

  1. Nice post. I always looked for a way to save a WF as template (in the buggy SP environment)!

    Thx.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just came across your blog today and absolutely LOVE it! Thank you so much for sharing all of your wonderful ideas!

    ReplyDelete